Astrill

Post Icon

Astrill is a professional fast and secure VPN provider that offers a service to protect your privacy on-line and make you anonymous while surfing on the net.  Their VPN service offers all of the major protocols and more than most of their competition.  This includes PPTP, L2TP/IPSec, OpenVPN, and SSTP.  The addition of the Astrill StealthVPN also means you get around tough restrictions, including the great firewall in China.  Astrill VPN encrypts all of your internet activity, not even the communist party will know what sites you have visited.  Astrill now supports over 50 countries with 150+ servers and is a big player among personal VPN services.  Their low prices, robust service plan, and excellent software, in combination with 24/7 support, makes them one of the premium VPN solutions on the market.

Astrill provides a free VPN software application with all accounts that is compatible with Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android.  They also have all the manual installation instructions for you on their website in case you want to download and install the certificates yourself on other internet enabled devices.  The Astrill VPN app has a lightweight install and offers core features like country selection and upload/download speed measures.  Apps for iOS and Android are free and available in Apple App and Google Play stores.

Astrill Home Plan VPN Addon for Up to 5 Devices

The addons to service plans at Astrill also provide some added benefits to customers.  In fact, Astrill offers some unique addons not typically found at many other service providers that can make them quite attractive for certain users.  Addons at Astril include:  NAT Firewall, Home Plan, StealthVPN, RouterPro, VPN Sharing, Private IP, and CryptoPlus.  Each of them offers a great to customize the premium VPN service.  NAT Firewall and Private IP are fairly typical and found at many VPN service providers.  The Home Plan is an excellent addon to secure your home network (up to 5 devices) with Astrill VPN.  For only $5 additional, Home Plan is one of the best value offers we’ve seen in personal VPNs.  StealthVPN and RouterPro are Astrills solution to beating tough regional restrictions, like the kind found in China.  These two addons combat deep packet inspection (DPI) and provide an extra layer of security for users who need it most.  VPN Sharing addon can share the Astrill VPN connection from the Astrill application itself, allowing you to join up to 254 other devices.

Astril CryptoPlus with OpenVPN for 512 bit Encryption

The CryptoPlus addon for OpenVPN is an excellent addition with enhanced encryption options.  Astrill VPN with CryptoPlus is one of the most secure VPN connections on the market with up to 512bit Blowfish and CAST.  The expanded and enhanced security from CryptoPlus includes: BlowFish 256-512-bit, CAST 128-512 bit, Camellia 128-256 bit.  For those who are unfamiliar, CAST is used in PGP software and Camellia is a Japanese and European encryption standard.  Kudos to Astrill for raising the bar on security with CryptoPlus and the enhanced encryption options!

Astrill Mobile Apps are Free

Astrill does offer a free trial, which is very nice for customers to try their service before buying.  Astrill is a growing service (they were in beta stages in the beginning of 2010), and we’ve been impressed with their improvements over the fast few years.  We hope to be bringing back some customized discounts at Astrill for our readers very soon!  As one of the few VPN service providers who allows multiple simultaneous connections on one account (2 standard, 5 with Home Plan), Astrill offers great value for customers looking to share the VPN.

Astrill VPN plan pricing is on par with the competition, and in some cases, less expensive than other premium VPN providers.  Their 3 month plan, although a longer term, provides a serious monthly discount.  Since it includes all servers, all countries, all protocols, 2 connections, and unlimited VPN – it’s a great deal.  Including one or more of addons only raises the price $1-$5, depending on addon selected.  Of particular note is a 3 month service plan combined with their $5 Home Plan addon.  For $15/mo or $45 for 3 months, customers can secure all their home devices behind Astrill VPN.

Blocked Countries: Astrill does not allow signups from the following countries:  Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa, Senegal, Benin, Malaysia, Indonesia, and Iran.

June 2011 Update: Astrill has made a few changes to their plans and software since our review.  They have updated their plans and removed the 1 month plan option.  Their shortest term plan, and cheapest personal plan available is now 3 months.  They have 3/6/12 month options now available.  We have also lined up a special 25% discount for VPNandUsenetReviews.com visitors!  Please see our news bulletin for the complete information on their updates and the deal announcement for information on the special discount!  Screenshots of the Astril v2.2 application can be found here:  Astrill v2.2 Screenshots

July 2011 Update: Astrill deal is EXPIRED. Astrill has removed all discounts from review websites.  Not sure why, and when you consider that review websites are where people go for unbiased information…well…In any case, the 25% off deal is EXPIRED.  We’ve taken down the deal and removed our advertisement banner.  Sorry!

March 2014 Update:  Astrill VPN has expanded in a big way over the past few years.  The number of servers, countries offered, performance of the VPN, and the VPN software have all improved.  Not to mention the addition of free apps for mobile devices on iOS and Android.  As one of the few companies including SSTP in their VPN plans, Astrill offers extremely competitive pricing.  The available addons to VPN service plans offer an exciting way to customize their VPN service.  Our favorites are the Home Plan, for up to 5 devices on one account, and CryptoPlus, for enhanced encryption options.  For only a few additional dollars per month, one account can secure all your devices and include market leading encryption options!

Astrill413
Visit Site

11 Responses to “Astrill”

  1. Anonymous says:
    June 19th, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Astrill has been my choice for VPN for about 6 months now. I really like the application they have and it seems like everytime I open it up they have added more servers to choose from. Sometimes the overseas servers are slow, but I guess that’s to be expected – I’m in US. I haven’t had to use support, but they have online chat that is on most of the time. I’m glad I found your site because your price on their plans is less than most people! I’ll be back for my next renewal!

  2. Anonymous says:
    June 19th, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I have been using Astrill and I think their personal VPN basicallly can’t be beat. They don’t keep logs and they offer all the major VPN protocols: Open, PPTP, Cisco, etc. I’m not fancy enough to use the Cisco, I use Open but still. I wish they had a little better than the 128bit security on the Open, but since they don’t keep logs I don’t mind. And the price is awesome for the 6 month package. Plus they allow BT. No complaints on speeds or connection either for the servers I use (mostly US).

  3. Astrill BT says:
    June 20th, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    I was very nervous when I began looking for a good VPN service that supported bittorrent – there seemed to be a lot of sketchy companies out there saying they would support p2p over their vpn. But none looked very good. I decided to give Astrill a chance because they were cheap and didn’t keep logs like some others. So far Astrill is pretty good – the price is cheap and the speeds are better than I thought. I am extremely happy so far.

  4. haiku says:
    June 29th, 2011 at 4:35 am
    Price Not Rated
    Speed Not Rated
    Protection Not Rated
    Reliability Not Rated
    Support

    After researching the various VPN reviews I was considering signing with Asterill.

    Unfortunately all of my attempts to access the Astrill website over the past week-end were re-routed to Overplay.net.

    I eventually contacted the very helpful Overplay support and was, with Overplay’s assistance, able to establish that Asterill were forwarding all traffic from South Africa to Overplay.

    Thinking that this might be some form of a hack, I emailed Asterill’s support, advising them of the situation.

    I received a somewhat militant response from Asterill, quoting their terms & conditions of service – which list a number of blocked countries (amongst them South Africa), along with various threats in tones that would make the RIAA proud – and saying that the rerouting was deliberate.

    Unfortunately it has yet to occur to Asterill’s combined wisdom that, since access to their website is blocked, one is unable to examine their terms & conditions of service.

    Needless to say Asterill have also neglected to advise Overplay of their decision …

    editors note: this reviewer has an excellent point about blocked countries. many providers block access from certain countries (nigeria, or south africa for example). in the future, we will attempt to list any and all blocked countries by provider in the review. kudos to this reviewer for emphasizing this as important information!

  5. Bad Customer Service says:
    July 31st, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I signed up with Astrill a few months ago. I have struggled with customer service ever since. The live support is never online anymore (can they see when I visit and turn it off I wonder) and the emails I received were at first polite, but then turned nasty. I’m not even sure their people speak or understand english. Not the best thing for a VPN that advertises for US. As soon as my term is up I’ll be finding something else. Probably Strong since I hear they have great customer service. Astrill speeds were never that great anyway. Price was right with Astrill, but you get what you pay for!

  6. Tony Hank says:
    November 28th, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Hi guys,i have been an Astril VPN user for almost more than a year now and i love it.
    But,now finally i am going back to my home sweet home USA.
    They gave me a few codes to give away to my friends who want to use Astrill.
    I dont have much friends in China. 🙁 So,i thaught sharing them on the internet.
    These are 10% discount codes that you can use to signup. Valid till 28.12.2011. This offer is for new users only.
    https://www.astrill.com/sign-up.php

    PM10-AF00-59B1D-6781A
    PM10-AF01-C5668-86244
    PM10-AF02-2D7D5-CCE3D
    PM10-AF03-F9BBC-A7CF5
    PM10-AF1C-C6C87-A1E57
    PM10-AF1D-DAF7C-6AA07
    PM10-AF1E-B7709-CEE98
    PM10-AF1F-9A3E0-0F63B
    PM10-AF18-E9EAE-E362C
    PM10-AF19-F353F-64D3E

    Have fun folks. 🙂

  7. marcoscu says:
    December 10th, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I have been with Astrll for nearly a year now and have just renewed my contract. They have loads of servers all across the world and their software is very easy to install and use.
    Due to a rogue security software issuye on my machine I found I was unable to connect. Their cusomer support for very rapid and first rate and they even offer a remote-access support session to directly configure your PC if required.
    On the downside, their prices have just increased somewhat and now some protocols which previouslywere bundled with for all users are now separately priced as extras.
    I will be sticking with them however because their system always seems to work.

  8. can do better says:
    February 18th, 2012 at 1:13 am

    I tried Astrill out and wasn’t really stoked on what I saw. Very basic application and server speeds were so-so. For the price, it doesn’t seem like that great of a bargain. But its good to test out. I was able to find something better pretty easily though…not hard to do better.

  9. Rez says:
    March 4th, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    I went to Astrill from Overplay, and I’m going back to Overplay. First off, the Astrill people seem like they barely speak english when you send emails. Second, the software isn’t that good. Overplay’s is better. Also their speeds are only OK. You have to get lucky sometimes if you want fast downloads. I guess its OK for the price, but I didn’t like it that much.

  10. Anonymous says:
    October 23rd, 2013 at 11:49 am

    Astril works great for me. West Coast US will max my connection since I’m local. NL servers are about half my typical cable connection, but that’s fine for downloads. Haven’t used any of the addons. I leave my desktop on Astrill and take my laptop too and they can both be on at the same time. Only downside is the subscription but if your going to buy vpn just buy it anyway it doesnt matter. You lose money buying month to month anyways.

  11. victor says:
    March 14th, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Astrill is working great in china. there new software is good . They introduce crptoplus add on for 512 bit encryption that makes astrill more reliable and protected. They have awesome support

Leave a Reply

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Protection
Reliability
Support