PureVPN

Post Icon

PureVPN is a relative new player to the VPN service market, having opened their doors in 2007.  Since most of the VPN service review sites have picked up on them their popularity has increased quite substantially.  They are operated by GZ Systems Ltd. a Hong Kong based company.  What sets PureVPN apart from a lot of the other providers is that they are one of the few that include SSTP support in all of their plans, and our editors feel like this is a big step in the right direction.  Although SSTP is the most secure it is unfortunately only available for windows, but it can be used to get around a  lot of blocking done in countries like UAE and China where L2TP/IPSec does not work or is actively monitored.

PureVPN provides PPTP, L2TP/IPSec, and SSTP VPN services.  Unlike some VPN providers, PureVPN does not include any proprietary software with their services; however this does mean that your install will be slightly more complicated.  But this is standard when compared to other VPN providers not using proprietary software.  You’re basically left to setup the connection yourself in the operating system on your computer.  PureVPN does offer a lot of support though, and our editors noticed quite a bit of positive feedback on both their customer forum and other VPN service forums.  Their support includes online chat and Teamviewer, which is nice, because you can allow remote control of your computer and the tech can set it up for you.  The service supports Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, and DDWRT.

The plan pricing is fairly competitive, though their plan structure and individual pricing did just change recently (summer 2011).  Prior to the change there were 4 main packages, and that has now been reduced to 3.  They have also increased the cost of the lowest level package from $6.00 to $9.95 per month.  However, the new low tier package now includes SSTP support and a full server listing.  Overall our editors felt like the change in plans and pricing was for the best – it made the plans less confusing and easier to select as a potential customer.  Some providers have upwards of 20 different packages to choose from, and that can be difficult for customers.

One of the nice things about PureVPN is everything that they include in all of their packages.  For starters, they allow you unlimited server switches in all of the packages.  They also include SSTP support, fast downloads, and P2P support.  The main difference between the plans is whether you want unlimited bandwidth.  Only the top tier plan will provide unlimited bandwidth, so that’s probably the biggest thing to consider when deciding on PureVPN and their packages.  Country offerings between the packages basically remain the same, and as of this writing, PureVPN is in about 10 different countries:  US, UK, Canada, Germany, Netherlands, Russia, France, Singapore, etc.  Connection speeds seemed fairly high when connecting from North America to other North American servers.  One thing to note there is that they, like many other providers, are constantly expanding and polling their customers to determine which countries to add.  It’s nice to see providers actively engaging their customers and listening to them!

Free trials are available of PureVPN, in the form of a 3 day money back guarantee.  If you want a full featured trial account for a short period of time they do offer a 3 day trial for $2.50.  One last note, our editors read quite a few customer posts about manual order processing at PureVPN.  Although this is obviously done to mitigate fraud and stolen credit cards, it did seem to add a small amount of hassle for some customers and time delay when ordering.  Since monthly orders do not seem to be on a subscription basis (at least as far as we can tell); you might consider purchasing a longer term plan.

Blocked Countires: PureVPN does not allow signups from the following countries:  any country in Africa, except South Africa.  However, the Terms of Service provide an exception for anyone that can provide valid government ID, or landline telephone.

Logging Policy: The PureVPN privacy policy says, “We do not log any user activity (sites visited, DNS lookups, emails etc.) We only log access attempts to our servers (for security and troubleshooting), session durations and bandwidth used. Those are kept for 5 days. We do not get involved in any form of censorship. We do not give your personal info to any third parties. We do not cooperate with any requests for information unless we are ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction and the vast majority of these requests would not be from a court of competent jurisdiction.”

July 2011 Update: PureVPN has added new countries and servers!  They now have 12 countries available.  Read our news bulletin to learn the full details about their expansion.

Oct 2011 Update: We have just completed an In Depth VPN Review of PureVPN with Full Speed Test of their L2TP and SSTP servers!  Check out our news article!

Jan 2012 Update: PureVPN has announced new split tunneling service and the release of their beta Mac OS software!  Check out our news article!

PureVPN3.93589743599
Visit Site

7 Responses to “PureVPN”

  1. Anonymous says:
    May 14th, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Thank you PureVPN, you are the best, I’m from one of the islamic countries in middle-east and islamic government blocked lots of news and other websites. I’m so happy to use your service in order to access to the blocked websites. It’s important for us that you support L2TP. PPTP will not work here. Speeds are good as well. Thank you!

  2. Anonymous says:
    May 14th, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    PureVPN order processing, dedicated and shared IP accounts, speed, network reliability, and customer service support is by far the best I have seen.

    No other competitor has so many nodes available just for shared IP accounts like PureVPN, not to mention this VPN HAS NO BANDWIDTH restriction.

    Most of the loser VPN’s have all sorts of ports, P2P restrictions, f all that…plus they have 10-1000 of confusing account types….making consumers more confused than ever….

    PureVPN has simple and fast service. I just upgraded my account from monthly basis to Semi-Annual, and most definitely when my time is up I will get it on yearly basis….because you can bet your money on this VPN that they are fast, secure, and excellent CS support….

    Thank you for this awesome service!!!! TWO THUMBS UP, I’m sold to their service for life guaranteed!!!! FIVE STARS ALL AROUND!

  3. David Antony says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 5:57 pm
    Price Not Rated
    Speed Not Rated
    Protection
    Reliability Not Rated
    Support

    Long story short, I signed up for the 3 day trial with Pure VPN, and after several hours and multiple ticket posts requesting they re-send an email I never got anyway, I was finally issued the refund I requested.

    I cannot understand why any company would do the following:

    a) securely take a payment first;
    b) next, not send a so-called verification email (I got a payment confirmation only);
    c) leave me to raise a support ticket two hours in to ask why the service is not switched on yet;
    d) they reply by reminding me I must verify the ‘nebulous’ email that never came;
    e) me to reply AGAIN, asking what they needed, perhaps they can ask again in the ticket(?);
    f) me get a response telling me to send a scanned credit card (with numbers blanked out), or a Government I.D. (e.g. Licence);
    g) me to give up, then request a refund after 4 hours of said drama;
    h) them to reply, stating they gave me options to “verify” but anyway, “just send us an email”, “we hope you understand”, and ignoring why email and document attachments are less secure, etc. I faint on the floor, get back up, ask for that refund again;
    i) …then finally, me repeat the refund request, which came through very promptly after that.
    j) time for lunch 5 hours in. Gosh, I’m ready for bed I am so tired.

    Moral of the story? They have issues with their ‘new customer subscriber’ process. I really wanted to give these guys a shot and the reviews are generally very positive. It’s a shame I didn’t get the opportunity to try the service out and comment on that instead. This seems like a classic case of “block-heads” somewhere in the bowels of their company, decreeing it is OK to force new customers down this unnecessary and very time-wasting path – especially when I consider how other VPN providers are doing the new customer thingy. I had no choice in the end but to go back to another provider who may have occasional issues with connectivity/speed, but nothing like the off putting experience of signing up to their new service.

    I don’t believe in telling anyone reading this what they should do. All I can hope for is that a user (YOU) is sufficiently aware before you get into this sign-up process. As I stated to them, with today’s users expecting things to happen in a timely manner, how can any company act with such apparent indignation – or worse – stupidity, which will cost them new customers like me? Do I care they screwed up previously and let fraudsters in? Not really; they take money from customers – they can look after the process better if they tried hard enough; it’s not like the technology and common sense has to catch up first. If any company chooses to do online payments for “instant” services, they need to be geared up for it, right? There can be no excuse, in my humble opinion, for a company to behave this way. How often do you buy a service or product, pay for it, then spend several hours convincing the company you are real, and you did actually mean to do business with them? Why should I be treated like this because they seem to have a very unhealthy paranoia towards fraud, aka any new customer that comes along with his custom?

    I really hope my review helps you. I especially hope it helps PureVPN to revisit its sign-up process. I’m a realist, which means I probably won’t bother coming back to this forum or PureVPN (but I will, anyway, because I am sad like that). Like or dislike what I say, and go have a fantastic life – whatever you do. Do what makes you happy, but don’t say you were not forewarned or forearmed by a really cheesed off bloke who still thinks its April Fools Day in August. Wow, thanks again PureVPN.

    If they change their sign-up practices and make all this go away for new customers, I will definitely be willing to consider them in future, but not before

    PS: I kept a log of every communication, just in case my review is torn to shreds with an inaccurate response from Pure VPN.

    editors note: woah! sounds like you were put through the ringer after ordering. vpn services often have extra precautions during ordering due to spammers and fraudsters targeting the services, but i don’t think we’ve heard of an order going this badly so quickly! for what its worth, we appreciate you taking the time to write the review and post it here. we will be checking in with purevpn to see if we can get some clarity on their ordering process – especially with regards to the government id / scanned credit card. our first thought is that you might be in a country on their “fraud” list. countries like nigeria, south africa, and others are often on these lists and customers have trouble. see the note above regarding blocked countries for purevpn and you’ll see what we mean. oh, and we don’t tear customer reviews to shreds here. this is the only site on the web where you can get honest, unbiased feedback from real customers like yourself. don’t be fooled by the other sites with one zillion reviews on a service provider. if you look closely you can clearly tell they are fake and likely posted by the site operators! beware!

    dave also sent this response:

    Thank you! I’m in Florida. I felt compelled to post as several other reviews complained about the same process and also felt messed around given PUREVPN do not make the elongated sign- up process clear BEFORE sign-up. Good luck getting clarification, and for posting my rant – I really hope it helps others to avoid this silliness!
    Dave.

    editors note: hey dave! no thanks needed. that’s what a real review website is all about. we have inquired with purevpn and they are working on a response. in the mean time, please feel free to let us know about your experiences with other providers too! hopefully you have found someone more to your liking – might we suggest someone else in our top 5 🙂 you can always drop us a line too: editor at vpnandusenetreviews dot com

  4. Jens says:
    October 9th, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    I’m in Denmark and signed up for their 3 months plan. I didn’t have any of the problems the other user reported during subscription. I got the email pretty quick and downloaded the setup files. I’m on Windows 7 and the L2TP worked good. I was able to get on Hulu without any problems. Speeds seem good to enough watch without buffering. I output the hulu to my TV! My favorite show is Family Guy. I am thinking of buying Hulu plus now too, thanks PureVPN!

  5. SP says:
    October 27th, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Switched to PureVPN from another provider because of cost and the fact that you can get sstp. SSTP is perfect for me for travel even though it’s a lot slower than L2TP which is what I use at home. No issues with ordering for me.

  6. MCD says:
    October 30th, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    For $10/mo I get VPN for my home computer and for my laptop when I travel. I’ve never gone over the 30gb limit and I normally get good speeds for watching video on hulu and nbc. Plus I’ve been going to BBC iPlayer too through the VPN. I don’t use all the countries or anything, mostly use the US servers. No issues with email or websurfing either. Adds the network connections in windows so you just right click on the network and select. Every once and awhile it disconnects, so you have to make sure by rolling your mouse over.

  7. Darren says:
    March 4th, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    PureVPN has totally gone downhill since late last year. I purchased the 6 month plan and it hsa been very bad for speeds since around thanksgiving, I dont know what is wrong. It used to be pretty good but then the connection got really terrible and I could notice a BIG slowdown. I won’t be renewing.

Leave a Reply

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Protection
Reliability
Support