VyprVPN

logo vyprvpn VyprVPN

VyprVPN is a top notch VPN service when compared to the other premium providers – which is amazing considering that they are a relatively new company.  Goldenfrog, the company that runs VyprVPN, is actually from the same group that does Giganews (Usenet provider).  Giganews has been a dominant player in Usenet for many years, so it’s no wonder their VPN offering is doing well too.  Adding to the bundle, VyprVPN customers now receive free online storage with Dump Truck.

The VPN service from VyprVPN can protect your online activity and communications whether at home or on the go.  Anytime you connect to the internet from your desktop or mobile device VyprVPN can protect your online privacy and security.  The service provides apps for the desktop (Win/Mac) and mobile (Android/iOS).  Apps for mobile are free and included in the service.  You can use the VyprVPN service on cellular networks, public Wi-Fi and anywhere you connect to the Internet.  VyprVPN runs on a network built from the ground up by a company committed to restoring individuals’ rights to online privacy.

One of the great features about VyprVPN is the ability to use it with your mobile device, such as your iPad, iPhone, or Android phone/tablet.  This adds an extra level of privacy and security for anyone using a smartphone.  Considering the amount of data most people utilize on their mobile devices, having a VPN there just makes sense.

vyprvpn windows app location selection VyprVPN

Although VyprVPN only has a few countries right now (Jan 2013 Update: Country count continues to rise to 7!), they are strategically positioned to service the customers quite well.  There is east coast and west coast US, EU, and Asia (Jan 2013 UPDATE: Now including Canada!).  Speeds are reflective of their strategic position focus, with their users reporting little or no degradation in connection speed when using the VPN.  Since they allow file transfer/P2P/BT downloads, this is a big benefit for anyone that shares files over the internet.  Our speed tests, as shown below, were reaching close to 20 megabit per second (mb/sec) download using the VPN on an overseas international connection (Amsterdam).  Continental US speeds East and West were also high, over 2000 KiloBytes per second (KB/sec), or still around 17-18 megabit per second (mb/sec).

VyprVPN PPTP  July 2011 Speed Test VyprVPN

If you are a Giganews Diamond customer you can actually get VyprVPN for free ($15.00/month value).  So if you’re considering buying Usenet service as well, in addition to buying VPN service, you can save quite a bit of money by going with Giganews and purchasing the Diamond account.  It’s a great combination when you consider Giganews has a SSL encryption, and the connection is further secured by a VPN tunnel!

To round out the offering, VyprVPN customers now receive 5GB free online storage with Dump Truck.  Dump Truck, also from Giganews, provides users with the ability to securely store and share their files in the cloud.  Dump Truck has integrated apps for Windows, Mac, Android, and iOS.  Whether on your desktop at home, or on the road with a mobile device, Dump Truck gives you the ability to upload, download, sync, and share files at will.  Service additions like Dump Truck online storage are an example of why our editors rate the value of VyprVPN so highly.

dt blog sync1 VyprVPN

VPNandUsenetReviews.com is proud to offer a discounted special offer for all VyprVPN customers!  Signup for VyprVPN using VPNandUsenetReviews.com and standard unlimited VPN service is reduced to only $9.99 per month!  The more expensive Pro plan is also reduced to only $14.99 per month!  That’s a big discount over the regular monthly prices.  Click the image below to learn more about this special offer.

vyprvpn 999 deal VyprVPN

Note:  A 7 day moneyback guarantee is available for all VyprVPN plans.

Blocked Countries: VyprVPN does not prohibit signups from any country.

Logging Policy: Company policy states that logging data “is maintained for use with billing, troubleshooting, service offering evaluation, [Terms of Service] issues, [Acceptable Use Policy] issues, and for handling crimes performed over the service. We maintain this level of information on a per-session basis for at least 90 days.”

July 2011 Update: We have completed a full speed test of the VyprVPN L2TP and PPTP servers! Every server on these two networks was tested for download, upload, and ping.  VyprVPN showed great speeds from both PPTP and L2TP, with PPTP being fastest.  For full results and screenshots, please see our news bulletin.

August 2011 Update: We have completed a full speed test of the VyprVPN OpenVPN 160bit and 256bit servers! We tested every server for each type of encryption.  Again, VyprVPN servers were smoking.  To see the complete results, please read our news bulletin.

September 2011 Update: VyprVPN has added a new French server for all their existing VPN protocols!  This brings the number of countries offered up to 5.  Check out our news bulletin for all the details.

January 2012 Update: VyprVPN has added a new German server for all their existing VPN protocols! This brings the number of countries offered up to 6. They have also released a VPN client application for all Windows users. Check out our news bulletin for all the details.

February 2012 Update:  We have a full review of the VyprVPN app for Giganews, check it out!

October 2012 Update: VyprVPN has updated the Windows VPN app three times so far this year and added servers in Austin, TX!  See our screenshots of the new VyprVPN Windows App software!

January 2013 Update:  The service from VyprVPN continues to improve with big updates to their VPN application for desktops and new releases of apps for mobile devices (Android/iOS).  VyprVPN is now 100% integrated with your iPhone/iPad with “On Demand” connection and easier than ever with desktop widgets available for Android.

March 2014 Update: We have added a review of the VyprVPN App for Android!  Take a look at setup, the powerful widget, and view our speed test results.  Our in depth review of VyprVPN app for Android has it all!  Goldenfrog continues to move the goal posts with VyprVPN by adding Chameleon™ VPN that scrambles OpenVPN packet data.  This is definitely an advanced offering for personal VPNs and combined with their insane growth of servers and IPs, VyprVPN is a great value at only $10/month.  New pricing structure from VyprVPN provides deep discount for annual subscriptions, monthly cost of their top tier plan is reduced from $19.99/month to $10/month when billed annually.  VyprVPN adds a new “premier” level plan above “pro” with up to 3 connections and twice the Dump Truck online storage (50GB).  Growth in countries has gone from <10 to more than 37!

VyprVPN4.615168539325818
Visit Site

18 Responses to “VyprVPN”

  1. James says:
    December 23rd, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I love VyprVPN. First off, I’m already a Giganews subscriber, so the fact that they offer this VPN service free with the Giganews account is awesome.

    So far I’ve used VyprVPN on my home computer, laptop, and android phone. I’ve been really happy with the performance on each. Speeds are good and setup is pretty minimal.

    All in all a really good choice for VPN, even if you had to pay per month! But since I don’t, it’s even BETTER!

  2. Paul says:
    April 21st, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    I have VyprVPN setup for my computer and iPad and I love it! It’s great that it works on my Mac and iPad. I feel much safer browsing and downloading now. Speeds are really really fast! I don’t even notice any slowdown when I am on their VPN!

  3. physX says:
    May 12th, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Huge fan of vyprvpn since it rolled out with giganews diamond membership package. I use it 24/7 at home and I always use it on my laptop when I’m out on unprotected wifi. The speeds I get at home are fantastic it almost maxes my 30mbs cable connection. I’ve never called support, but if its anything like giganews it should be fine. Definitely great protection, keeps me safe and secure! 5 stars all around!

  4. Sean says:
    June 2nd, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    As a Level II Systems Administrator with a Degree in Information Security, privacy is an ultimate concern of mine on the web. When Comcast asked me why my bandwidth usage was so high I simply told them “None of your business.” Thanks to my diamond account on giganews that includes SSL connections as well as VyprVPN, it truly was just that. I would definitely reccomend VyprVPN to anyone looking to secure their internet connection. And if you’re already a Giganews customer, the upgrade is worth it to get VyprVPN.

  5. Glenn says:
    June 16th, 2011 at 12:45 am

    I have used a couple of other providers but none of them compare to VyprVPN and Giganews. Their customer support is superb and they always do their best to resolve your problem as soon as possible. Besides having the best retention at Giganews and providing SSL encryption, they have VyprVPN with L2TP VPN. This definitely surpasses all VPN services out there. Thank you for continuously providing great services to the community. I feel much better using usenet with SSL and VyprVPN!

  6. Anonymous says:
    July 10th, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    I get my VyprVPN from my Giganews subscription, but I can’t complain about it at all. The L2TP install was a little bit tedious, but it worked for me right off the bat (Win7). I basically leave it on all the time and connect to the UK server since it’s been up. Before that I was on a US DC server I believe. I won’t really comment on price because it comes free with my usenet subscription. I do have it on with usenet and I don’t notice much speed decrease but there is some. I’m in the UK so it’s better since they hadded that server. Reliability seems fine, it hasn’t been down anytime I’ve been online…yet. The instructions for install are nice, but I wish it was like an application where I just clicked next!

  7. Diamond says:
    July 23rd, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Love my diamond account with Giganews. Gives me ultra high speed usenet, with the best retention. Plus it gives me MIMO newsreader and VYPRVPN! Ever since they added VYPRVPN I have been using it religiously. I basically have it on all the time. It was a little difficult to setup. Their instructions are complete but it is a lot of steps to setup L2TP. I don’t have OpenVPN, so I don’t know about that. I mainly use L2TP because it’s more secure than PPTP. SEtup took about 10 minutes but it worked ont he first try. You have to setup multiple times if you want to have a different connection to each server. Not hard, just extra steps. My speeds through VYPRVPN are always great. I download from Usenet with it on, watch videos, browse, send emails, no problem. I haven’t speed test, but it seems good. Definitely would recommend going with Giganews and VYPRVPN!

  8. Vita says:
    September 7th, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Can’t go wrong with VyprVPN and Giganews. Sure the plan costs quite a bit at $35/mo but you get the best usenet in the business, a newsreader, vpn, and soon online storage. I use the VPN religously and basically have it on all day. Play games with it, browse, download, watch videos, basically everything. haven’t had any problems. Everyone once in awhile I find I’ve been disconnected but I can’t tell if that’s me or the service. Reconnecting only takes a second anyway. when I set it up it took a bit but I was able to get it down the first time with no problems and it was working great. Hasn’t stopped. I did a speed test and got like 18mbps which is plenty fast.

  9. mandein says:
    November 21st, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Good little VPN. Use it on my laptop. 5 for price cause it’s free to me with usenet. 5 for speed, the us servers are super fast. 5 for protection since its much better than being on open wifi. 5 for reliability, since I haven’t had any real problems (that weren’t actually caused by me). 5 for support for answering my email after I caused problems!

  10. hosato says:
    December 6th, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    long time giga customer basically using vyprvpn since it joined giganews. i don’t know of anybody who really buys it separately anyway. speeds have always been good though they were expanding more servers a few months ago. seems like last few months ahve been about the windows app. good app more than does the job, not too fancy though.

  11. Ingen says:
    February 12th, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Got VyprVPN free with my Giganews account and have liked it. REally like the new little app they have. Took me forever to add all the servers before. Servers are fast and I get good speeds off them. I also use it on my laptop too for no additional cost.

  12. Kel says:
    February 15th, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Vyprvpn is WAY faster than a lot of other vpn’s I’ve tried. They have less servers in terms of choices, but the servers all perform a lot better than some other services I’ve tried. And it’s all about speed anyway. Little bit on the expensive side per month if you go for l2tp, is best to get it with Giganews diamond imho.

  13. Steve Canada says:
    March 1st, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Gotta hand it to VyprVPN. The past 6 months have been pretty good from my point of view as a customer. One thing I can say though, is that it’s expensive to buy the best plan per month. In comparison to others, it’s more expensive at VyprVPN. But, I’ll say this, the network is pretty fast and reliable. There are good choices for servers, though not a million. If it weren’t for the per month price, it would be almost perfect…

  14. RobbieA says:
    March 18th, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Great service, hands down. The little windows app they have now is awesome. Needs to be cheaper, and they need to keep adding servers. I have it set to protect me anytime I join an open wifi, and unless its set to the wrong vpn server, it will protect me everytime. I don’t use it to torrent, but I hear people are saying this isn’t the best service for that anyway. Less for protection becdause of that.

  15. mattslide says:
    March 29th, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    VyprVPN is my first VPN, having joined Giganews I got it for free. Never really saw the need for it until I bought a laptop. Now I’m basically always connecting to vpn becdause I don’t trust the other networks. Hotels, starbucks, the airport, all that. I just leave it on, connect to the fastest and closest US server to me. It’s nice to not have to pay for it either since I’m already on Giganews. But that itself is kinda expensive. Still, free VPN is worth it.

  16. Fusion says:
    May 24th, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Not a bad free vpn at all. App has been getting steadily better too. Could still use some work. Sometimes not all the servers work but I normally get good speeds when they do. High marks from me since it comes with usenet from giga. They hvae been building out the servers too. Used the UK server to watch the olympics on my phone.

  17. Anonymous says:
    January 12th, 2013 at 8:19 am

    lol…email…
    yes giganews and vyprvpn is beast. but they also do a lot of takedowns and its a us based company. so use your brain. still this is the best all in one plan and i give it 5 stars.

  18. Phoenix says:
    February 12th, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    Not great for people who want true anonymity. They keep logs, and are going to be DMCA friendly.

    If DMCA is not an issue, then nothing beats Strong VPN.

    If DMCA stuff is an issue (which it is), then none of these “top VPN” providers come anywhere close.

Leave a Reply

Click stars below to rate.
Price
Speed
Protection
Reliability
Support